FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 23, 2016



Contact: Colleen Colby 903-630-7441 colleen.colby@netrma.org www.toll49.org www.netrma.org

NET RMA Announces Priority Project Winner

(Tyler, TX) – The North East Texas Regional Mobility (NET RMA) will present Gregg County/Judge Bill Stoudt with a \$400,000 check to help fund the county's priority project submission. The presentation will occur on Wednesday, June 29 at 4:15 PM at the Gregg County Court House.

"The NET RMA set aside money in 2015 for the Counties to fund their priority projects," said Everett Owen, Interim Executive Director of the NET RMA. The monies were unused in 2015, so the agency was able to supply the recipient with two years of funding. The Long Range Planning Committee met, scored all the member applications, and is pleased to announce Gregg County's proposal for the reconstruction and improvements to the US 259 and Hawkins Parkway intersection in northeast Longview, as the award recipient this year.

"This is an exciting benefit of forming an RMA, said current NET RMA Chair Linda Thomas, "revenues from Toll 49 stay local, so we can reinvest in East Texas, in our own back yard. The ability to distribute those funds in a meaningful way is important. We are thrilled to be at a point where we can give back to the very counties that have supported the Agency over the years."

The proposal submitted by Judge Stoudt on behalf of Gregg County is a partnership between the City of Longview, Gregg County and TxDOT to reconstruct and improve the intersection of US259 at Hawkins Parkway. The significance of the project is great as the US259/US 59/Interstate 69 is an area that connects northeast Texas to the Gulf Coast region, and is vital for the region's ties to the oil and gas industry. Additionally, the project promotes regional economic development and this enhancement will allow for both residential and commercial development along the US 259 and Hawkins Parkway corridor.

About the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority (NET RMA)

The NET RMA is an independent government agency created to accelerate the development of transportation projects in North East Texas. Our mission is to implement transportation solutions that will enhance the quality of life and the economic environment in our area. The NET RMA is governed by a 19-member board of directors that represent each of the member counties: Bowie, Kaufman, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Panola, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Wood and Van Zandt. Texas RMAs were made possible through an initiative passed by State Legislature in 2001. The NET RMA was established in October 2004.

###